Delicious Yummy Amazing Easy Pork Tacos

 

(note: I made this title because it says I will get more blog hits with a title like this)

Have you ever asked someone what they like to do for fun, and they’re like “Omg, I’m a total foodie. I just loooove food”? Well, I hate that person. Seriously, everyone says it these days. It’s like saying you like music or breathing. You know what a-hole? Eating isn’t a hobby and it doesn’t make you unique! Who the F doesn’t like food?! It’s food. We all eat it. We all enjoy it.  The only people who don’t enjoy it have TLC specials about how much toilet paper or couch cushion they eat.

The whole point of this little rant is a segue for me to talk about how much I love food. Seriously. I love it like it was a person. And I am always hungry. People think I’m crazy because as I am eating my dinner, I will be talking about what I will be eating for breakfast the next day. I can have eaten a 5-course meal and be having a food baby, but I still want to talk about the great dinner I’m going to have the next night. Also, if I don’t eat I get mean. My bf calls it hangry. I use it as an excuse a lot. “No, I’m not being a bitch, I’m just hungry, you idiot! Feed me!”

Today, every time I have eaten, I have thought about the dinner I had a couple nights ago. It was super fabulous delish. A little concoction I came up with myself (and you’ll see, it’s really original and I am pretty amazing for thinking of combining all these ingredients that in no way go together). Oh, and all the ingredients are from Trader Joe’s, so that’s cool.

Delicious Yummy Amazing Easy Pork Tacos

1 garlic and peppercorn marinated pork tenderloin (if you don’t go to trader joe’s, you can get a regular pork tenderloin and just put salt and pepper on it. It will still be good)

1 red bell pepper, thinly sliced

1 white or yellow onion, thinly sliced

olive oil

salt and pepper

1 avocado, sliced

sour cream

corn tortillas

Toss the pepper and onion strips with olive oil and salt and pepper. Put in a glass baking dish and bake at 400 for about 30 min. In the meantime, grill the pork on the grill for about 20-30 min. When done, cover loosely with foil and let sit for about 10 minutes. Thinly slice the pork. Heat corn tortillas. Top with sour cream, avocado, pepper and onion mixture and pork. Stuff in your face.

Did you know that the word foodie was coined in 1981 by Paul Levy and Ann Barr, who used it in the title of their 1984 book The Official Foodie Handbook? It’s true. Wikipedia says so.

About Hunting the Housewife

Growing up I had a fantastic mother (I still have her) who showed me how to be a strong, independent, smart woman. Unfortunately, she didn’t teach me how to put makeup on, how to cook a casserole, or how to darn a sock. And who DOESN’T know how to darn a sock?! So instead of eating frozen meals every night or letting my holey clothes rot in a bag for months before taking them to a seamstress, I’ve decided to learn how to do all things domestic, and posting what I’ve learned.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Delicious Yummy Amazing Easy Pork Tacos

  1. Pingback: Hot Tenderloin Sandwich « The Cooking Channel

Leave a Reply

